Professional Development


Professional Development Funds 

• Request Support for Professional Development Activities


The College of Dentistry Office of Faculty Affairs has funds available to support faculty development opportunities.  


Jon Daniel Award

This award named in honor of Dr. Jon Daniel (1942 - 2009), is bestowed upon one faculty member each year for their exemplary contribution to the education of UIC College of Dentistry students. Selection for the award is based upon the recipient's ability to:
  • Engage students' interest, curiosity, and motivation to learn;
  • Challenge students to achieve breadth and depth in their understanding and excellence in their skills;
  • Support students in their learning by fostering clarity, meaningfulness, and confidence;
  • Respond to student needs in ways that keep learning at the center of the educational enterprise.

Both students and faculty are eligible to nominate a faculty member for this award. Please see the description and nomination form.

Please note: nominations for 2016 are now closed.

The recipient will be selected by a committee composed of previous Daniel Teaching Awardees (Drs. Blase Brown, Alison Doubleday, and Ales Obrez) and D3 ADEA student representative (Naheed Ahmad).

Past Winners:

2011 John Crawford

2012 Priscilla Chang

2013 Blase Brown

2014 Alison Doubleday

2015 Ales Obrez



Career Development


• Individual Development Plan

This development plan worksheet is designed to help articulate career goals and develop appropriate courses of action towards achieving them.


• Mentoring

The general approach to mentoring in the COD acknowledges that:
 1. All faculty should have access to mentoring,
 2. Many different effective mentoring methods exist, and
 3. Faculty may have unique mentoring needs.
 Learn about the various mentoring programs offered by COD.
 You can also review the results from a 2012 faculty survey about mentoring programs
 August 2013 Faculty Conference Mentoring Workshop


2015 Annual Faculty Self- Assessment and Review




Sabbatical Leave of Absence documents

         Provost Memo


UIC HR Development Page




       •  ADEA Professional Development Page





         ELAM (Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine)


         ADEA CAAMP


         • ADEA Leadership Institute





         • Teacher Excellence Review Committee (TERC)


                    Teaching Recognition Program (TRP) Deadline is October 30, 2015
                    Curriculum and Instruction Grants (CIG) Deadline is February 12, 2016
                    Departmental Teaching Excellence Award (DTEA) Deadline is April 8, 2016
                For more information please visit:



          ADEA Education Scholar



           Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR)


           AAL Grant Writing


           AAL Educational Research Module


Other Useful Links

            ADEA Publications   


            UIC OAE/Education Programs