• May 8, 2018
Dr. Kenneth Gerhke earns James W. Buckman Faculty Award UIC College of Dentistry

Dr. Kenneth Gehrke, who recently retired as a Clinical Associate Professor, Restorative Dentistry, at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry, has been named the recipient of the Department of Restorative Dentistry’s 2018 James W. Buckman Faculty Award.

Founded in Dr. Buckman’s memory, the award, “is for recognition of inspirational excellence and caring and is intended to honor a faculty member who has had a demonstrated long-term commitment to the Department of Restorative Dentistry, its programs, faculty, staff, and students,” said Dr. Stephen Campbell, Head of the Department.

“Like Dr. Buckman, Dr. Gehrke positively influenced the lives of thousands of students and practitioners over his 39 years at the College,” Dr. Campbell said. “Dr. Gehrke’s impact on patients and our entire Chicagoland and State practice community has been significant. His caring, willingness to share, and kindness will always define his contributions and presence in our College.”

Dr. Gehrke “taught in pretty much every predoctoral course the department offered over the years,” Dr. Campbell noted. Dr. Gehrke was Course Director for the Removable Partial Denture Course starting in 1999 and for the Diagnosis and Treatment Planning Course starting in 2000, positions he held until his 2017 retirement.

“I am honored and humbled to have been selected for the Dr. James W. Buckman Faculty Award by the Department of Restorative Dentistry,” Dr. Gehrke said.

“Dr. Buckman served as a valued role model, mentor, educator, and colleague in my time at the College as an undergraduate student, postgraduate student, and faculty member of the Department of Restorative Dentistry,” Dr. Gehrke continued. “Dr. Buckman’s clinical skills and knowledge in education and patient care, his support and patience in his instruction of students, and his caring attitude towards students and patients are among his greatest attributes.”

Dr. Gehrke concluded, “Dr. Buckman has set the bar high as an exceptional educator for which I will continue strive to attain in my educational pursuits,” Dr. Gehrke concluded. “I am grateful to Dr. Stephen Campbell and the Department of Restorative Dentistry for selecting me for this recognition.”

The Buckman Award Committee’s members are Drs. Fatemeh Afshari, Ana Bedran-Russo, Priscilla Chang, Rand Harlow, and Susan Rowan.

Photo caption: Dr. Stephen Campbell, Professor and Head, Restorative Dentistry, presented the Buckman Award to Dr. Kenneth Gehrke, Clinical Associate Professor. Mrs. Terri Gehrke is at right.

Choose Article Topics