• November 1, 2017
Advanced Prosthodontics Program Places Three of Six Finalists in National Competition

The University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry’s Department of Restorative Dentistry’s Advanced Prosthodontic Program was recognized with three finalists in the American College of Prosthodontists (ACP) John J. Sharry Research Award Competition.

Dr. Ghaith Darwish, ’14, Prosthodontics ’17, earned second place in the competition for his research, “Improving Polymethyl Methacrylate Resin Using Novel Nana-Ceramic Coating.”

The other two finalists were third-year Advanced Prosthodontics Resident Dr. Saad AlResayes, honored for his research, “Corrosion Behavior of Ti 15Zr Dental Implant Alloy Compared to CpTi and Ti 6Al 4V Alloys,” and Dr. Randold Binns, Prosthodontics ’17, honored for his research, “Effect of Ultraviolet Radiation on Candida albicans Biofilm on Polymethyl Metharylate Resin.”

Sponsored by the ACP Education Foundation, the John J. Sharry Prosthodontic Research Competition is held to stimulate and acknowledge original research in prosthodontics by residents. 

The 2017 Sharry Research Competition was held during the Annual Session of the American College of Prosthodontists in San Francisco, Nov. 1 through 4. This highly competitive award requires eligible individuals to submit an abstract of their research. The Sharry Research Award Committee then identifies up to 12 individuals for submission of a complete manuscript for consideration.  From these manuscripts, six finalists are identified to present as part of the final competition at the ACP Annual Session. 

“As part of an incredibly impressive showing, the UIC Advanced Prosthodontic Program made up three of the six finalists for the 2017 award competition,” said Dr. Stephen Campbell, Head, Restorative Dentistry.  

The College’s Advanced Prosthodontics residents have scored impressive showings in the Sharry competition for several years. In 2014, Dr. Aram Kim, Prosthodontics and MS Oral Sciences ’14, won first place. In the 2015 competition, Dr. Amy Au, Prosthodontics and MS Oral Sciences ’15, finished second. The 2016 competition saw the Advanced Prosthodontics place three finalists: Dr. Craig Sikora, Prosthodontics and MS Oral Sciences ’16, won first place; Dr. Virginia Hogsett, Prosthodontics and MS Oral Sciences ’16, won second place, and Dr. Alec Zurek, ’13, Prosthodontics and MS Oral Sciences ’16, was a finalist.

Faculty mentors to Dr. Darwish, Dr. Binns, and Dr. AlResayes were Dr. Bin Yang, Dr. Stephen Campbell, Dr. Christos Takoudis, Dr. Cortino Sukotjo, Dr. Christine Wu, Dr. Kent Knoernschild, Dr. Judy Yuan, and Dr. Mathew Mathew.

“This was a story of success, accomplishment, recognition, and a journey that we were all part of over the past three-plus years,” said Dr. Campbell. “The journey, the sharing, and the opportunity to work closely together at the very highest level of expectations are the most valuable parts of what we have all shared and the most important part of this story.”

Photo caption: Left to right, Dr. Judy Yuan, Dr. Saad AlResayes, Dr. Ghaith Darwish, Dr. Randold Binns, and Dr. Bin Yang. Drs. AlResayes, Darwish, and Binns were Sharry contest honorees, and Drs. Yuan and Yang were among their mentors.

Choose Article Topics