Dr. Blase Brown Receives Jon Daniel Teaching Award
Posted on 6/25/2013

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Blase Brown as the 2013 recipient of the Jon Daniel Teaching Award, which confers upon him distinction as a Jon Daniel Teaching Scholar. Dr. Brown was among 8 nominees for the award, all supported by thoughtful and impressive nomination letters.

Dr. Brown’s nomination cited his dedication as an educator, including his remarkable involvement in the creation and organization of the new curriculum. His commitment to assisting students in learning new and difficult material, his demonstrated enthusiasm for learning through his own scholarly behavior, and his professionalism in treating everyone with respect and kindness were some additional qualities that support his receipt of this award.

Thank you to all the faculty members and students who took the time to write and submit nomination letters, and to the members of the Award Selection Committee (Faculty members Drs. Chang, Crawford, and Salzmann, and dental student Ms. Nicole Bartosik). Please join me also in congratulating those faculty who were nominated for the award, as nomination itself is indeed an honor. In addition to Dr. Brown, nominees this year included Drs. Seema Ashrafi, Mark Baker, Alison Doubleday, Thomas Diekwisch, Thomas Lakars, Susan Rowan, and James Ricker.

Dr. Brown will be presented with a plaque to commemorate this award at the Faculty Meeting to be held on July 17, 2013.