Dr. Ana Bedran-Russo Named President of IADR-DMG
Posted on 6/7/2013

Dr. Ana Bedran-Russo, Associate Professor, Restorative Dentistry, recently was elected the 2013-14 President of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Dental Materials Group (DMG).

"As President, I'll oversee all the DMG organization for the IADR and AADR meetings." Dr. Bedran-Russo said. "That includes selection of reviewers for abstract review, and sponsoring and co-sponsoring scientific programs. Between the IADR and AADR events we are planning to organize 18 lunch and learning sessions, five-to-six symposia, and two workshops."

"Also, I'll assist in the process of selecting recipients of two awards sponsored by the DMG group: the Peyton-Skinner Award for Clinical Research and the Ryge-Mahler Award for Innovation in Dental Materials, as well as the IADR Souder Award," she said.

Dr. Bedran-Russo noted she hopes to "continue the intensive work of past DMG Presidents in actively participating in the DMG-related scientific and social events for the AADR and IADR meetings, and to continue to advocate for the group to the IADR/AADR leaders.

"During this year we will also review the scientific group bylaws and work on a student research sub-organization within the DMG," she explained. "This is important because there are so many students presenting and attending DMG-related activities."

In her previous role as President-Elect, Dr. Bedran-Russo was the Group Program Chair of the Dental Materials scientific program for the 2013 IADR meeting in Seattle, WA. Her work included abstract review, interactions with other scientific groups and networks, and symposium and lunch-and-learn session organization.

With more than 2,000 members, the DMG is the largest IADR scientific group and represents 25% of all the scientific abstracts accepted and presented yearly.

Dr. Bedran-Russo and the other DMG officers are working on organizing scientific and social events for the 2014 American Association for Dental Research (AADR) meeting in Charlotte, NC, and the 2014 IADR meeting in Cape Town, South Africa.